UtahCribs Weblog

Real Estate, Homes, News, Statistics and more

Cost VS Value

Posted by UtahCribs, Real Estate, Homes on March 24, 2008

With the current market both nationaly and here in Utah slowing down quite significantly I am being asked agian by many of my cleitns, “what should I renmodel before I sale.”  In their mids they are envissioning a TV program where a HOUSE FLIPPER fixes a few things and makes HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS (you know what I mean).  However, I often suggest they just CLEAN UP, ORGANIZE and sell the home in it’s current condition.  “WHY,” you ask?

Now a days most remodel projects do no recoup thier cost from a sale perspective.  Especially when you hire the work out!  Now, you can paint, stain decks, clean the yard ect all by the sweat of your own brow.  Those things are worth your time becasue they cost you very little and you make the place look a lot better with little out of pocket expense. However, I suggest NOT taking on any major projects before you sale.  Let me look at it for you and tell you if it’s worth your $$$ before you sale!!

want the STATS??  Click HERE.

Leave a Reply

 
